Glass Sword | Victoria Aveyard | Book Review

Ppphht, what do you mean it took me a month to read this book?

Hello friends, and welcome to another book review. Today I will be taking a look at Glass Sword, the second installment of the Red Queen series. Yeah, it took me a really long time to read this book, but I’ll get into that later on.

So like I said, this is the second book in the series (the first is Red Queen). I liked Red Queen, though it was quite a cliché. I didn’t know what to expect from Glass Sword. But I read it. So. Yeah. By the way, if you have a low tolerance toward spoilers and you haven’t read Red Queen yet, maybe skip this one.

About

Glass Sword was written by Victoria Aveyard and published on February 9th, 2016 by HarperTeen.

TL;DR

Image result for mercury element

I’m not about to explain everything because that’ll take a while, but in this world, some people have Silver blood, and it gives them superhuman abilities (like reading minds, teleportation). But Red-bloods are just regular people and therefore are looked down upon. Mare has red blood… but she has the power to control and create electricity (a strength that a Silver would have). At first, she thought that she was just an anomaly. But she has learned that there are other people (‘newbloods’, they call it) that are just like her. Now that the powerful, manipulative King Maven has control, Mare and the Scarlet Guard must fight against the Silvers. So, she must find all the newbloods the databases know of and protect and train them to fight Maven’s Silver legions. There’s just one itty-bitty problem… Maven knows exactly what she’s doing.

Character Development

Mare Barrow

The main (wo)man of this book, Mare narrates this story. There’s a lot of character development in this book, especially for her. All those betrayals have really hardened her, and she’s now tough as protein shakes, falcon eggs, and rocks.

Related image

Effin AVPS.

Tiberias “Cal” Calore

Cal is a tricky character in this book. Being a Silver, he arouses a lot of suspicion from the other members of the Scarlet Guard. However, Mare is steadfast in thinking that he will choose her, if not the cause, over Maven. The question is, was that the right choice? It’s not clear in this book.

Diana Farley

Farley has a much bigger role in this book. We learn a lot about her past, her present, and her future.

Image result for ghost of christmas past

Maybe not so much her future. She also shows a lot more emotions and her weaknesses. However, she holds up as an amazing leader.

Kilorn Warren

At the beginning, Mare did not trust Kilorn as much as she should have. But he’s proved many times that she deserves her trust.

But Mare is not aware of everything Kilorn thinks. He has a(n expected) confession to make.

Methinks

So I’m gonna be straightforward– I did not enjoy reading this book as much as I hoped. It was so, so, slow, my goodness. The beginning was quite a lot of senseless action. I know that Aveyard is a screenwriter, but this seems like it would translate better on screen than on the page. Speaking of the big screen, Red Queen is becoming a major motion picture. So, there’s that. If Glass Sword happens, I’d probably like it better than the book. I wish there was a little more Maven though. It was just a lot of… finding people, literally. If everyone in the book was a Hufflepuff, I wouldn’t mind all the finding.

BOOM TWO AVPM REFS IN ONE POST. I’VE WON.

Image result for i don't find this surprising at all

But let’s get to the deets. Mare was SO unlikeable in this book, man. I don’t mind that too much because of what’s happened, but she becomes super egotistical and cruel, really. The plot was really stretched out, as I said. The one thing that saved this story was the ENDING. That was one of the best endings I’ve read in a while, and she really knows how to round it off with a bang. However, I feel like this was a bit of a disappointing and uninspired book.

But yeah. Because of all this, it wasn’t a fun or quick read. Either that or I’m just rusty @ reading novels. Don’t worry, I’ll still read the rest of the series! I hate dropping a series in the middle.

My Rating

2/5 stars

I wish I didn’t have to rate it so low but it really didn’t deserve anything higher with such a dull story and an @$$ of a main character.

Appropriate For…

13-14-year-olds

Like I said, there was a lot of action and violence in this book. And dead bodies. Other than that, it was fine.


Well, I hope you enjoyed! That’s the first time I’ve rated a book that low. I really don’t want to have to do that again. But yeah! If you have any thoughts, pretty please leave a comment? I’d love to hear what you guys have to say. 🙂

Good talk.

-Hera

Leave a Reply

